Mayhem and Stardust

We are the proud parents of, amongst others, Jig, who has a handsome collection of diagnoses (ADHD, AD, FASD) which probably mean nothing and a generous smattering of fairy dust which probably counts for everything. School was a huge challenge and so we decided, probably rashly, to move to the country and home educate him. No medication, no 'support', chickens, space, a farm on the doorstep and a beach nearby. What could possibly go wrong?

It’s not you, it’s me.

IMG_5004

Being special is all very well but we are struggling slightly with finding ourselves a tribe at the moment.  We don’t quite fit into any of the groups available to us, at least not fully, and I am thinking about why that might be, if it matters, why it matters and what I could do differently.  I know that the slight disharmony is a clear and accurate reflection of Jiggy’s own unique approach to his days and am happy to acknowledge that on his behalf (sorry Jig) but it does raise so many more questions, much harder ones, ones about me, my days, my choices and how my approach to our life impacts us and the people around us.  Maybe I am the one with the special and different needs after all, maybe his way of living is just as good as anything I could come up with and I should stop trying to make that any different. Or, maybe I have spent too long in Jiggy’s world, I am beginning to lose the clear edges that I always thought I had marked out which is, frankly, a little discomfiting. Maybe they were all rubbish anyway and we are about to stumble (or fly, or crawl, or swim – whatever we are) upon a new and better way or maybe I am, quietly, losing the plot.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “It’s not you, it’s me.

  1. Of course it’s good to be ourselves. But, it is nice to feel like we belong somewhere too. I hope you find your tribe. Not necessarily people who are like you are, but definitely people who like you as you are. Thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

